• 29 August 2017

Franschhoek Regional Prestige Agri Awards

The 4th annual Regional Western Cape Agri Prestig Awards Function was held in Franschhoek at Boschendal on the 8th August 2017. This initiative, previously known as the Farmworker of the Year competition, honours excellence in the province’s agriculture sector. This initiative is co-sponsored by the Western Cape Department of Agriculture and the Shoprite Group. Shoprite has been involved with this initiative for the last six years. Shoprite is proud to partner with the Western Cape Prestige Agri Awards in honouring farmworkers who make a significant contribution to South Africa’s economy.

A winner, runner-up and second runner-up were selected in each of the following 11 categories: General Worker, Tractor Driver, Administrative Personnel, Animal Production, Technical Operator, Irrigation Specialist, Social Development, Agri-processing, Foreman, Junior Management

Herewith our winners:

General Worker          : Stefvin Muller (Boschendal)

Tractor Driver              : Aby Hartnick (Anthonij Rupert Wyne)

Irrigation Specialist      : Zwelenxaba Somdaka (Boschendal)

Technical Operator      : Bradley Ewerts (Haut Espoir)

Social Development    : Patricia Cyster (Solms-Delta)

Foreman                      : Neville Botha (Plaisir de Merle)


Best Potential Farmworker of the Year 2017 : Sune Papier (Boschendal)

Regional Farmworker of the Year 2017         : Bradley Ewerts (Haut Espoir)


The winner in each category and the overall winner in each region will go through to the provincial competition which will be held in October at Kromme Rhee in Stellenbosch.

The 2017 Western Cape Agri Prestige Winners will be announced at a Gala Event held on the 5th November at Nederburg Wine Estate.  Franschhoek Wine Valley is extremely proud of all our nominees and winners. The best of luck with the next round!

blog comments powered by Disqus